Underage Drinking

Also see: Juvenile Crimes ➔

Countless Columbus minors are charged annually with offenses related to underage drinking. The legal drinking age in Columbus is 21, and anyone suspected of consuming alcohol under that age could face a range or charges, many of which come with serious consequences.

If convicted of Underage Drinking, what are possible consequences?

In Ohio, an individual under the age of 21 who is pulled over on suspicion of drunk driving and is found with any amount of alcohol in their system can be charged with DUI. In addition to this driving offense, there are a number of other alcohol-related charges that underage individuals can face in Ohio, including:

  • First time public intoxication (PI) offenders could pay up to $500
  • A minor in consumption (MIC) could be fined $2,000
  • Minors in possession (MIP) could be fined $500- $2,000 if convicted
  • Drivers License Suspension
  • Probation
  • Community Service
  • Incarceration
  • Alcohol Awareness Classes

Immediately consult an underage drinking defense lawyer.

If you are facing underage drinking charges, it is imperative that you get the help of an experienced criminal defense attorney. If carried out to the fullest extent, these drinking charges could seriously jeopardize a minor’s ability to attend college and find employment.

For over 45 years, Trial Attorney Terry K. Sherman continues to fight for the rights of youths charged with underage drinking offenses, and we are ready to defend your son/daughter.

- Free Case Review -
(614) 444-8800

Disclaimer*

Privacy  |  Sitemap  The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute an attorney-client relationship. © 2019 Terry Sherman is a criminal defense attorney based in Columbus Ohio.